You are here

Governing Body

The University Technical College Norfolk Governing Body are:

  • Ben Milner (Chair) - UEA
  • Alex Hayes (Principal)
  • Roger Bennington - Long Stratton Motor Group
  • Nicola Finch - Safe STS Ltd
  • Richard Hill - Lotus Cars
  • Claire Kerrison - Parent Governor
  • Chris Porter - Parent Governor
  • StJohn Richardson - Lay Governor
  • Julie Schofield - UEA
  • Claire Smithson - Parent Governor
  • Peter van der Horst - KLM
  • Jerry White - City College Norwich

The Role of Governor

Within England, there are over 300,000 School/Academy Governors, who form the largest volunteer force in the country.

The roles of individual Governors, and subsequently members of a Governing Body, work collectively to perform a strategic role and carry out key functions such as:

  • Discuss and set the aims and objectives for the Academy.
  • Set the required policies for achieving those aims and objectives.
  • Set the required targets for achieving those aims and objectives.
  • Monitor and evaluate the progress that the Academy is making towards its set aims and objectives.

Finally the role of role of the Academy Governor is to be a source of challenge and support to the Principal, i.e. a 'critical friend.'


The Members of the Academy Trust appointed under article 12 of the Articles of Association of the Norfolk UTC.

  • Transforming Education in Norfolk - represented by J Fry
  • University of East Anglia - represented by B Milner
  • Future Marine Services Ltd - represented by Y Mason
  • S Guest
  • C Maw
  • R Proctor

The Governing Body may be contacted by:

Letter – c/o TEN Group Governance Office, Thetford Building, City College Norwich,
Ipswich Road,Norwich,NR2 2LJ

Email –
Telephone - 01603 773381 (TEN Group Governance Office)